We rounded up the best music released in February.

Anunaku – Stargate EP

Label: 3024

London artist Anunaku (aka TSV1) drops this new 3 tracker on Martyn’s 3024 label. Following on from his recent release on the Whities label, the ‘Stargate’ EP showcases his love for organic percussion workouts, though set to tough breakbeats and jacked up house drums in this way keeps the feel of the EP fresh and contemporary.

Oprofessionell – Elektrisk

Label: UTE.REC

Ute is an Oslo based collective, responsible for club nights, forest raves and this (relatively new) label. Though this is only their 3rd release, they’re already well into their stride, as Oprofessionell lays down 4 tracks of uptempo trance and techno acid, with a lovely old school breaks remix of ‘Pull Up’ included too.

Schacke – Role Modelling

Label: Intrepid Skin

Rising star Schacke debuts on SPFDJ’s Intrepid Skin imprint.

Centred around a warehouse techno style bass drum, ‘Role Modelling’ plays out with Diva style vocal licks and rolling, cavernous percussion, the contrasting elements marrying together triumphantly.

Inland – Stream State

Label: Counterchange Recordings

Inland (aka Ed Davenport) presents this new compilation on his Counterchange imprint. An ambitious project, he’s brought together some 20 artists, including legends such as DJ Skull, Efdemin, Boddika and Mark Broom as well as upcoming talent like Rhyw, Sophia Saze and Johanna Knutsson. This 90-minute mix spans ‘deep IDM-rooted studies, lush chord-driven euphoria, powerful modernist workouts and tough house-groove jackers’ with all the tracks also available unmixed both on 12” and digital.

Jonathan Kaspar  – Kante EP

Label: Kompact

Cologne resident Jonathan Kaspar releases this collection of club-ready bombs on the legendary Kompakt. ‘Zentrum’ is bound to cause serious damage everywhere it’s spun, thanks to a staccato synth that seems to rise endlessly, culminating in a breakdown that’ll send heads spinning.

HVNCOMP 1/6 – Fragments 1

Label: Hivern Discs

To mark 10 years in existence, John Talabot’s Hivern Discs delivers a timely compilation of eclectic rhythms. 29 tracks across 6 12”s, featuring artists Arthur Evans, Benedikt Frey, Walden and Epsilove, covering a broad range of house and breaks styles at the groovier end of the BPM spectrum. Talabot himself contributes ‘Hivernoid’, a slowly building acidic chugger.

Fedele – No Mercy For Beginners EP

Label: Turbo Recordings

Fedele, one-third of Italian outfit Agents of Time, showcases a more industrial side to his production with this release. Providing 5 tracks of ballsy and banging techno and electro for Tiga’s Turbo Recordings. An excellent DJ Hell remix of ‘Riot Revolte’ rounds off an outstanding package.

Robert Bergman – Whats On Yr Mind

Label: L.I.E.S

Taken from a 4 track vinyl release, Amsterdam based Robert Bergman delivers this excellent track for NY’s L.I.E.S label. Full throttle acid house from the get-go here, with the 909 drums at just at the right level of saturation.

9th March, 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You currently have an ad blocker installed

Attack Magazine is funded by advertising revenue. To help support our original content, please consider whitelisting Attack in your ad blocker software.

Find out how